Winter has been a mean old man, wearing out his welcome, if ever he was so welcomed.   Winter’s recent assault caused my son-in-law to pen these words:

Twas the night before Thursday, when all down the street
There was a blanket of white stuff, at least three inches deep.
The neighbors were yelling and riding on cars,
It’s as if seeing snow were as foreign as Mars.

Our dogs were nestled all snug in their beds,
While visions of springtime danced in their heads.
And mamma in her ‘kerchief, and I in my cap,
Were really getting quite tired of all of this crap.

While out on the lawn it kept drifting and freezing,
I laid in my bed wondering if winter would ever be leaving.
Away to the beaches my mind flew like a flash,
The sunshine! The sand! The surf’s salty blast!

The moon on the breast of the still-falling snow
Just mocked me as it shined on the cold ground below.
I work from my home, the walls close in so near,
The last thing I need is more snowfall this year!

As summer came welcomed but soon grew too hot,
And we forget throes of springtime like spoiled young tots.
So winter came knocking and stayed for a bit,
The least we could do is deal with its…hardships.

So I’ll speak not a word, but watch the snow do its work,
I’ll watch it fall softly but still think it a jerk.
But laying my longing for springtime aside,
I’ll admire the beauty of this wintertime bride.

I’ll sip my hot cocoa and spend time with friends.
And just as with everything, this too will soon end.
So I’ll say without groaning, with joy in my drawl,
“Joyous snow day to all, and to all a good thaw!”
-Garreth Blackwell
Richmond, VA (2/13/2014)

 

