Fairest and best adorned is she Whose clothing is humility.
~James Montgomery

In anticipation of the Tennyson family gathering at The Farmhouse this upcoming weekend, and because the house was due some adornments, we hung a few pieces of wall decor and staged a few vignettes here and there.

One such piece is a humble, gold framed mirror which was a bit BRIGHT for my tastes. Although the frame is plastic (resin?), the glass is a nice beveled, heavy piece.  The best part? It was FREE!

Mirror1
Having read a great deal and viewed a few tutorials about chalk paint, yet never having tried the product, I decided to experiment with the paint in order to tone down the frame.

I first painted the entire frame with ASCP Old White.

Mirror2
I then distressed the raised areas by using a wet cloth to reveal some of the gold underneath.

DSCN2017
I then applied ASCP clear wax.  I liked the results and initially thought I would leave it at that.  However, the frame lacked depth and was a bit stark.

I then applied ASCP dark wax.

DSCN2021
The dark wax gave the mirror the needed depth.

Here is the mirror, mirror on the wall.

Mirror3
My grandmother’s buffet sits below the mirror, on top of which my great grandmother’s dough bowl rests.

The old house may be humble, but she is more and more being made quite fair.

