There was an old, old house renewed with paint,
And in it a piano loudly playing.
~Robert Frost

I’ve been asked on numerous occasions, what are y’all going to do with it? referring to, why are we spending so much time, effort and money to fix up the old house.  My usual, logical response is that we will use it for family gatherings and family / guest overflow.  That’s the logical answer.

In reality I get to “play” in my Grandmother’s house.  Isn’t that every child’s dream?!  Getting into the kitchen cabinets and looking through the drawers of the old chiffarobe.  My Grandmother would have called it pilferin’.  Not in like “to take or steal something”, but more in the sense of gettin-into-something-that-you-ought-not!

As a child, I day-dreamed about “fixin’ up” the old house.  Over the past, almost three years, my childhood dreams for the old house have expanded, evolved and are now coming to fruition.

I envision a comfortable old farmhouse, a quaint country cottage, where a bit whimsy is in store in every nook and cranny.  A showplace of fond memories of the days and things of old.  Where make-do ingenuity is at play.

And, as we begin to conclude our interior restoration / renovation / preservation efforts, I am almost giddy with the expectation of getting to “dress up” the old house.

Of recent, when I could find a moment, I’ve begun a few refab projects:

In the den / family room we were given two matching loveseats which were of good quality, but not very pleasing to the eye.

Twin Loveseats-Before

Twin Loveseats-Before

With an in-expensive, clearanced-out slipcover from JCPenney, shabby becomes country cottage chic:

Twin Loveseats-After

Twin Loveseats-After

The Center Hall, will play host to a daybed, a desk, a piano, and a round, ice cream parlor table and four chairs.  The four chairs to the table have recently been updated from this:

Before
to this:

DSCN1795
using material already on hand.

DSCN1791
Over the next few weeks, before the Tennyson clan gathers, I hope to reveal the rooms in their beginning and altered state.

So, come along. Let’s go play!

If I were asked to name the chief benefit of the house,
I should say: the house shelters day-dreaming,
the house protects the drea
mer,
the house allows one to dream in peace.

~Gaston Bachelard (1884–1962), French scientist, philosopher, literary theorist.
“The House,” ch. 1, The Poetics of Space (1958, trans. 1964).

