Spring

After a long winter’s nap, the old homestead awoke with renewed vigor this past week.  With the return of Daylight Savings Time,  I took the week off from my day job for “Spring Break”.  Handi-man and I concentrated on flooring the dining room – The Eddie as I have deemed her.

Sanding

For the dining room floor we purchased and had Lowe’s cut seven 4’x8′ sheets of 19/32 plywood into 6″ strips.  We then sanded each of the 56 boards.

FloorHandi-man then installed the boards in a staggered pattern with adhesive (my job) and screws.

Stain
A custom stain (two tints) was mixed and applied. Look how the wood grain POPS!

Floor&DoorA satin polyurethane was then applied and baseboards were installed.

We also began restoration of the old, chippy front door.  Handi-man sanded all the loose, chippy paint and I primed both sides and painted one side before we re-hung this original-to-the-house treasure.  I will paint the outside with an exterior grade semi-gloss on the next warm, Spring day.

Wavy Glass

Don’t you just love old, wavy glass!

