the-trick-is-to-enjoy-life-dont-wish-away-your-days-waiting-for-better-ones-ahead

I wish life had no expectations. -unknown

Following Thanksgiving’s nearly 70 degree, sun-shiney day, the temps plummeted giving way to mid-20 degree nights and brisk, north-windy days.  And of a sudden, the mornings are darker longer and the evenings darker quicker. I get up in the dark and drive home in the dark.   The earth is entering into her winter solstice, settling down for a long winter’s nap.

I too have entered into a state of metabolic depression (i.e., hibernation). Over the past few months I’ve stored excess body fat and have slowed down to the consistency of molasses in winter.  I seem to be unable to complete thoughts and sentences, much less tasks. And since it ’tis the season I have many undone tasks: Christmas shopping, varied To-Do lists, menus and food preparation, not to mention a farmhouse that is almost-but-not-quite complete (inside).  There’s not enough light in the day and all I want to do is sleep.  It’s taken me an entire week of evenings and this weekend just to type this short post.

The earth is gyrating towards December 21st which marks the reversal of the gradual lengthening of nights and shortening of days and the first day of winter. It further gets me a few days short of getting to see (up close and personal) my daughter and son-in-law whom I have not seen since December last.

So for Christmas I’m dreaming of (wishing for):

  • the early return of Spring (and warmth)
  • longer daylight hours (which comes with Spring)
  • more energy (which comes with longer daylight hours)
  • less body fat (which comes with more energy)
  • a completed farmhouse (but then what will I do? DECORATE!)
  • and Virginia to move closer to Mississippi (or at least to see my baby soon)

…eagerly awaiting the fulfillment of my wishlist.

