It’s spring fever.  That is what the name of it is.  And when you’ve got it, you want
– oh, you don’t quite know what it is you do want,
but it just fairly makes your heart ache, you want it so!
~Mark Twain

Ole Blue dons her Spring Frock

With the warming trend over the past couple weeks, I have begun to experience a bit of Spring Fever. This past weekend, Handi-Man and I walked down a small slope to our garden spot in order to repair the gate.  The next morning, my thighs were achy and sore, apparently from the return trip up that slight incline.   My once, more conditioned muscles have withered from lack of use over the winter months.

Atorphied. A wasting away. Not only my muscles, but also my enthusiasm. The motivation is there, but my get up and go has got up and went.  The last couple weekends have been pretty, but the mornings have been very cool and the sun’s warmth has been shackled by blustery winds.  By the time it warms up enough to begin work at the farmhouse, I’ve already started projects closer to home and daylight has waned.

But get motivated, we must if we are ever going to get the farmhouse ready for use.  There is a commercial currently airing on television for some arthritic medication that begins, A body at rest tends to stay at rest. A body in motion tends to stay in motion.  Hopefully this coming weekend will be just the dose of good weather and renewed enthusiasms needed to regenerate dormant muscles.

