Handi-Man and I are involved in a local ministry that attempts to alleviate the hurts of the poor and underprivileged in our community. Go4th Ministries is a board-led, nondenominational, faith-based, nonprofit ministry.  We are a IRS 501(c)(3) tax exempt organization, incorporated and registered with the Mississippi Secretary of State as a “charitable” organization.

While we are not “a” church, we seek to be The Church – a body of like-minded Christ followers whom God has called out to go forth for the purpose of intentionally ministering to those in our community who are broken, hurting and in need.  In so doing we are able to share the love of Christ with our neighbor. Our demographic interests are the working and non-working poor, especially single parents and their children, the elderly and the disabled.  Our geographic interests are specifically residents of subsidized housing apartments.

Each year on the Saturday before Thanksgiving, Go4th Ministries prepares and delivers ThanksGIVING plates to the residents of the housing complexes of our City.  This year we delivered 180+ plates.  Each plate contained a roasted chickenleg quarter, dressing and gravy, green beans, corn and dessert.  We then took the left over vegetables, made vegetable soup and fed 26 additional individuals.

Throughout the year Go4th host meet-n-greets and cook outs for families and days geared toward children – all ways to have a caring presence in the lives of the residents of these neighborhoods.  We also periodically deliver Care Baskets to the residents – toiletry items, paper products and cleaning supplies, all items that cannot be purchased with food stamps. A Care Basket Blitz is planned for December with a distribution of 200 bags of needed personal and household items: toilet paper, soap, shampoo, deodorant, toothpaste, dish detergent, etc.

If you are not involved in a outreach in your community, I encourage you to find one in which you can invest your resources.  OR start a local ministry in your area!  If you would like to make a monetary donation to Go4th, our address is: Go4th Ministries, P.O. Box 753, Iuka, MS 38852.

Note: We have NO paid staff.  All of our work and workers are strictly volunteer.  Your donations do not contribute to the overhead of Go4th Ministries but goes directly to programs of the Ministry.

For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat,
I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink,
I was a stranger and you invited me in,
I needed clothes and you clothed me,
I was sick and you looked after me,
I was in prison and you came to visit me.
Matthew 25:35-36 (NIV)

