I took the week off to spend Spring Break with my eldest who teaches at Southaven High School, and to work on some projects.   The first part of the week consisted of Cassie getting sick (Spring fever?) with a lot of sneezing, snotting and sniffling.  I joined in her misery the latter part of the week.

Mid-week I began work cleaning the 50+ Tappan gas range from the farmhouse.  Boy-hiddy was that NAS-tee!  Fifty plus years of baked on, caked on grease. I took it apart (in places), used a box of 20 stainless steel soap pads and countless buckets of hot water, painted it (in places), and then put it back together.

Whew!  And wow! Some parts of it sparkles.  Some parts of it — well, are just old.

Now, I just pray the darn thing works! (click on any picture in post for larger view)

Today we removed two swing sets and a pool from the premises, followed by tearing out and replacing the rotten wall in the privy.

The year’s at the spring
And day’s at the morn;
Morning’s at seven;
The hillside’s dew-pearled;
The lark’s on the wing;
The snail’s on the thorn;
God’s in His heaven –
All’s right with the world!
~Robert Browning


