That one is allowed to own such ancient things seems impossible to me.
~Frances Mayes, “Under the Tuscan Sun

I have an affinity for old things. I once thought that I must have been born in the wrong era. But had I been born and lived at the time that old things were once new, they would have been been, well, new and not old at all.  I guess the adage, “one man’s junk is another man’s treasure” relates.  As it is, I can now enjoy and appreciate finding beauty in old treasures where once only the mundane, everyday existed.

Such is this little treasure that I uncovered all rusty and forgotten around my husband’s work shop and my potting shed.  I pushed back a few leaves and was WOWED. I’d found an old rusty treasure.

Rusty Treasure

In the restoration of the farmhouse (and with much credit to Pinterest) I’ve come to hold a deeper appreciation of old rusty things. So, here are two questions for you, those that read my blog: 1) what is the item in the photo above? (I know, but only after I asked) and 2) how would you use or display it, say in an old farmhouse? (I have some ideas, but would love to hear yours).

Please leave your comment to both questions and check back often to read others comments. I’m sure some of you will have the correct answer, but just in case you are all stumped, I’ll reveal the item’s true purpose next week and will display the item in one or more of the suggested ways.

